From The Shadows

“Hope is the dream of a soul awake.”  French Proverb~

I have thought over this blog entry for the past several days and even still, I cannot come up with the proper words on how to start this.  It honestly breaks my heart to even think about this.  But as it seems to continually surface in the news, I feel like I need to speak up… to lend my voice with those of my community so that the light might shine again for those that find themselves stuck in the shadows.

Behind the smiles and the friendships and the everyday lives is the pain and the suffering of someone’s soul.  Despite their outward appearance, they find themselves slipping farther and farther away and feeling as if there is no way out… no where to turn for help.  They might be young; they might be middle-aged; or they might be elderly.  It is defined not by any age or race or religion, but it usually ends in the same result… someone with no hope left just giving up.

Whether we know the individual or not, whether it makes headline news or not, it still affects those of us that are left behind.  We wonder how and why.  We look for absolution, though it never comes.  We carry the burden in our hearts and hope that there is no more.

We live in a changing time.  Though LGBT-rights have been making progress over the past several years, there is still much to be done.  For those that have gone before, we keep their memories in our hearts as we move forward.  For those of us that have lived through it, we know that it gets better.  We know that there are places to turn to when we need that helping hand… whether it be a family member, a personal friend, or an organization within the bigger community.  All we ask is that before things get so bad, that one seeks out help and guidance.  There is nothing wrong in admitting that help is needed.  Even I, at one point in my life, needed that crutch, and it helped me get through some dark days.  That crutch was that light that I needed to get me to emerge from the shadows.  And there is a light for all of us.  We just must take the time and not be afraid to reach out for it.

Amongst our changing world, there is plenty of hate, violence, and bullying.  It can seem as though that’s all our culture is.  But there is plenty of love, kindness, and hope that exists out there, as well.  Sometimes, we just have to look a little harder to find it.  No matter who you are… no matter of age, race, religion, nationality, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, etc… there is someone out there that cares about you, and they might not even know you.  It can be hard to turn off all the negativity that exist within life, but it can be done.

Albert Einstein once said, “Learn from yesterday, live for today, and hope for tomorrow.”  Even if yesterday was horrible and today is no better, there is always hope for a shining light tomorrow.  Regardless of what life throws at you, you have the ability to overcome.  All one must do is plant his/her feet firmly on the ground and march forward.  Suicide is never an option and should never be considered as such.  There is much more to live for, and we all have a reason for being here.  Let us stop the hate and the bullying.  Let us reform our culture to be one of positive energy instead of negative.  Let us build people up instead of always tearing them down.  Let us remember that we are all someone’s father or mother, brother or sister, son or daughter, aunt or uncle or cousin, husband or wife, friend or foe.  No one deserves such harsh treatment that they wish to make an early exit from our realm.  Mind your words and your actions for they do have consequences that might not be considered.  Let us together end the suicides that are plaguing our community, and let everyone know, no matter where they are, that there are those of us out here that care about them and will help get them through whatever dark time they are currently in until they can once again emerge from the shadows.  No one is ever alone.  No one is ever alone.

For those that have already fallen, we will never forget them.  For those of us that remain, we must do better to make sure no one else follows them.  We must be willing to stand up and say “We Care!” and reach out to those that need us.  I am proud to stand up and say that “I Care!”.  The bigger question is, do you?  And if you are one that needs that helping hand, do you have the courage to seek that crutch that you need so that you can stand up with us?  I know that within your heart, you do.  So reach out today for your community is here to help you.

INFORMATION:
If you or anyone you know is contemplating suicide, please call 1-866-4-U-Trevor (1-866-488-7386).  You can also click on the link for The Trevor Project.  There are people there that are willing to listen and to help.  You can also look up your closest LGBT Center.  Remember, you are loved… whether you know it or not… and you can get through this.

“He who has health, has hope.  And he who has hope, has everything.” Proverb~

In Memory of Those that have Fallen…
Let there be light so there are no more shadows.

7 Responses to From The Shadows

  1. James S. says:

    On a personal note for those reading, I do remember being bullied and teased in school. I remember being called “gay” and “fag” in school. I wasn’t an athlete, so I never quite fit in. I usually just went to school and then went home. Now, this was before cell phones, Facebook, and Twitter. It was even before Myspace. I remember not wanting to go to school some days. But I still went, nonetheless, and made my way through school. I was usually one of the quiet ones (if you can believe that). I went into my own shell in order to get through what was going on. There were days that were better than others. Now, I’m happy and have a full life. Things did get better after school. Sometimes, it felt like a long way away, but I knew that I had to make it. Suicide never once crossed my mind during any of that time. I just put my head down and made my way through it. I know it seems hard, but I know you can do it. Things will get better, and you have plenty to live for and to contribute to society. I’ve lived through it, and I’m still here. Yes, the memories of those years are still in mind, but they no longer control my life. I do. So please, don’t lose hope. Things will get better. And if you do need help, please seek it out. You have much more to live for. You are important and loved. 🙂

  2. Can I just say what a relief to locate a person who actually understands what theyre discussing on the world wide web. You unquestionably understand how to deliver a difficulty to light and allow it to be essential. Much more people need to read this and realize this side on the story. I cant feel youre not far more common simply because you unquestionably possess the gift.Consignment Store

  3. I was in search of this one other day. i dont commonly post in message boards but i desired to say thank you!

  4. plr says:

    whats up,
    just found you on google. Great article, I was just thinking about something similar. May possibly begin blogging myself! Thanks a lot free plr

  5. Lavon Ocon says:

    Awesome information and very informative. Thanks for taking the time to write it and post it!

  6. Julqlm says:

    I wish your website would fit a good deal better on my cellular phone . I hope that you possibly will focus on this point when you can .

    As a final point , give permission me thank you for your patience with my English as (I am sure you have become aware this at this moment ,), English is not my chief tongue accordingly I am using Google Translate to figure out how to jot down what I really plan to voice.

    • James S. says:

      I thank you for reading my blog despite the fact that English isn’t your first language, and I hope that you continue to do so. As for the blog on mobile devices, I don’t have much control (not that I’m aware of) on that. Since this blog is hosted through WordPress, it’s up to them on how it all looks. I wish that the blog looked better on mobile devices, too.

Leave a Reply

