Declaring Freedom

We find ourselves once again celebrating the anniversary of the birth of our nation.  In 1776, brave men took a bold stand against the mother country in declaring that the 13 colonies should be free and independent.  The American colonists, though British citizens, were tired of being looked down upon and being thought less of by those in England, and they had grown weary of dealing with an oppressive and unfair government.

Today, some 234 years after the signing of the Declaration of Independence, we find our own government becoming the oppressor.  It tells us whom we can and cannot love and marry, and who can give the ultimate sacrifice for their country and who cannot.  It tells us what rights some of the populace have and which rights the rest of us are not privileged to.  Just as was done upon the founding of our nation, today our government sets aside a group of citizens and deems them second-class and not worthy of all the rights and privileges that other citizens do have.

Now it is our time to remember the ideals upon which George Washington and our many other Founding Fathers sacrificed so much for… “Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness.”  It is our time for our government to hear our collective voices that we will not tolerate any violation of our equality.

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal…”

I do not want you, though, to misconstrue my words.  I am proud to be an American and to live in a nation where its leaders cannot have me executed simply because I’m gay.  However, I know America can do better.  It must do better to live up to it’s founding words.  And though the Declaration of Independence is not a set of laws, it is a guide for us all… making sure we remember why we sought our independence from England and why it is important to adhere to those principles.

The Liberty Bell in Philadelphia once rang out in jubilation of our proclaiming independence from an oppressed government.  Now that bell has fallen silent and is awaiting the time to ring aloud again in jubilant celebration of a nation that embraces all of its citizens and it’s diversity to its full measure.

4 Responses to Declaring Freedom

  1. Davide says:

    Hello James my name is Davide (dah-VEE-day) every one incorrectly pronounces name. Anyways I have read many things on this blog. Well done-not so much I agree with you. But your post are more factual than some. In fact you seem to leave much of your personal feeling aside. I will not debate you-I only go to one blog and do this. But I do want to thank you for a blog that is well written. Was a pleasure to read. Grazie

    • James S. says:

      Davide… Thanks for your comment. I am glad to see that you enjoy my blog. Even if you don’t agree with what I write, I at least try to back up what I’m writing with actual facts and, if nothing else, get you to think of something a little differently. I thank you for reading and hope that you continue to do so. 🙂

Leave a Reply

