Saddle Up….Lock and Load

I’ve been watching the news a lot lately….it does kind of come with my job, whether I want to see it tonight.  And I honestly have to say that what I’m seeing in the news as of late is really starting to worry me…and it should be concerning all of us since it involves our society.  So I figured it was time to get some straight talk from the gay man on all of this.

There almost doesn’t seem to be a day that goes by where we don’t hear about a shooting at a school or a store (or mall) or, as here in the St. Louis area, even a city hall. And this begs the question….What is going on in our society??

Yesterday….Valentine’s Day of all days, there was another school shooting. This time, it was Northern Illinois University.  And even as I prepared to walk out the door for work tonight, there was a shooting at a high school.  Six (including the gunman) were dead at the university.  At the high school, the person only fired the gun into the air….no one was hurt or killed.  But my original question still remains.

What has our society become in recent years??  It seems that if we don’t get along with someone at work…a co-worker or a boss, or if we are picked on in school, or just the fact that we don’t like either place, or if a relationship is ending in a very bad way, we tend to go get ourselves a gun and go on a shooting spree.  May I ask where the logic is in all this??

Now, I will say this much.  When I was in school….elementary through high school, I was picked on quite a bit.  And yet, it never — ever — crossed my mind to take a gun to school to get even.  I just let it roll of me in any way that I could and just went on….realizing that the people that were making fun of me really didn’t know me.  In terms of my job, yes, I have problems there, too. But bringing a gun in there and shooting the place up won’t solve anything either.

As a society, we need to find a way to just chill out.  We are too overstressed and angry….and don’t know how to deal with it. We have to find a way to release the stress and anger without taking it out on anyone else. We all need to find our chill zone….a way for us all to relax.

I never once worried about being at school. Though there were fights there, I wasn’t really ever worried about guns and about a shooting rampage. Even at work today, I still don’t worry about such things, but that doesn’t mean that it can’t happen.  But we have to deal with what life throws at us….and in a better way than we currently are.

Recently, here in St. Louis, a local radio personality was angry at AmerenUE…the local energy conglomerate.  He was made because he lost power during the superbowl….and in his rant on the air, he said that he wanted to stand on top of their building with an AK-47 and shoot everyone as they tried to enter the building.  TIME OUT!!  WTF??  You can’t say that on the air!!  Yes, I’m a firm believer in the first amendment, and he was doing his job….and he had every right to state that he was angry at the company and why he was.  But he needs to learn a little thing I like to call…self-censorship.  He definitely way too far.  He can think it all he wants, but he needs to learn to censor how much he says.  There are times when I even sensor myself on here because it’s for the greater good.  And so you know….he was suspended but not fired.  If he had been my employee, he would have been fired on the spot.

But this goes back to where I was earlier.  Why do we have to resort to violence when things don’t go our way??  Why can’t we just say ‘oh well’ and move on??  Sounds simple enough….but it doesn’t seem like it is.

We even retaliate with violence if we are bullied either in person or even online.  People, for the internet, there are block and ignore functions. Use them.  And if someone really starts to aggravate you, just don’t talk to them or acknowledge them….and that goes for in person, too.  Only you can stop violence….and you have to do this on your own.  No one is going to do this for you.  You, and only you, are to blame.  And a quick note that if you are gonna go on a rampage and gonna kill yourself in the end, maybe you should try the last part first and save everyone a whole lot of pain and the rest of us from hearing about your miserable ass on the news….because you’re not worth the trouble.

For everyone else, I urge you all to find a way to relieve your stress, your anger, and find solutions to your problems in another way other than violence.  Yes, I know the Second Amendment grants us the right to own guns (though it really pertains the state militias and not us as individuals), but as a society, if we can’t show better judgement in how and when to use them, then maybe we shouldn’t be granted that right until we can show that we can act like rational, logical individuals.

Violence will not solve the problem….any problem.  We should not be afraid of going to school or going to work.  These should be safe places….just like our homes. So please, people, start using some common sense out there.  Guns and violence won’t solve the problem….they are only going to make it worse.  So let’s find a different…a better way….to handle things.

Leave a Reply

